Malaysia Country Guide

Cities & Destinations


Malaysia is made up of 13 states and three federal territories. The states and territories are located in two regions i.e. Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia, separated by the South China Sea. 11 states and two federal territories (Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya) are in Peninsular Malaysia. Two states (Sabah and Sarawak) and one federal territory (island of Labuan) are in East Malaysia. Each state is divided into districts and subsequently into 'mukim' while in Sabah and Sarawak, districts are grouped into divisions.

Save on your hotel -

Major Cities

  • Kuala Lumpur — Multi-cultural capital, home of the Petronas Towers.
  • Georgetown — Cultural and cuisine capital of Penang.
  • Ipoh — Capital of Perak with historic colonial old town.
  • Johor Bahru — Capital of Johor, and the gateway to Singapore.
  • Kuantan - Capital of Pahang, and commercial centre of the east coast.
  • Kota Kinabalu — Close to tropical islands, lush rain forest and Mount Kinabalu.
  • Kuching — capital of Sarawak and home to several indigenous tribes.
  • Malacca (Melaka) — Historical city of Malaysia with colonial-style architecture.
  • Miri — Resort city of Sarawak and gateway to UNESCO World Heritage Site of Gunung Mulu National Park.
City of Kuantan in the East Coast

Other Major Destinations

  • Cameron Highlands — Famous for its tea plantations, vegetable farms and highland forest.
  • Fraser's Hill — Hill station and a time warp of the colonial era.
  • Kinabalu National Park — Home of Mount Kinabalu, the tallest mountain in South East Asia.
  • Langkawi — Archipelago of 99 islands known for its beaches, rainforest, mountains, mangrove estuaries and duty-free shopping.
  • Penang — Formerly known as the "Pearl of the Orient", now a bustling island retaining many colonial heritage buildings.
  • Perhentian Islands (Pulau Perhentian) — Glittering jewels off the East Coast that is still undiscovered by mass tourism.
  • Redang (Pulau Redang) — Popular island destination for scuba divers.
  • Taman Negara National Park — Large area of rainforest spanning Kelantan, Pahang and Terengganu.
  • Tioman (Pulau Tioman) — Once nominated one of the most beautiful islands in the world.
Cameron Highlands
Cameron Highlands
Country Guide
Hotels in Malaysia
Click here for the best hotel deals -

Guide Southeast Asia  l  About Site  l  Terms of Use  l  Privacy Policy  l  Creative Commons  l  Site Map  l
Written content sourced and credited to this Wikitravel page.